Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

I started re-reading the Harry Potter series and realised that we hadn’t reviewed the books on our blog. Despite the delay, I thought I would review the series.  Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is the first book of the seven part series. We meet Harry Potter, a 11 year old boy who lives with his uncle Vernon Dursley, aunt Petunia Dursley and cousin Dudley Dursley following the death of his parents when he was but a year old. The Dursleys dislike Harry and treat him badly. On his 11th birthday though, Harry learns something. He is not an ordinary boy. Instead, Harry Potter is a wizard. And not just any wizard. He was the cause of the downfall of one of the most feared dark wizards of all time – Lord Voldermort – when he was just a baby.

Harry starts his first year at Hogwarts – a school for witches and wizards in England and befriends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. He is sorted into Gryffindor, one of the four houses at Hogwarts. Harry also makes an enemy in Draco Malfoy, from Slytherin and for some reason, has his Potions professor, Professor Severus Snape loathe him. During his year at Hogwarts, Harry and his friends find that someone is trying to steal the Philosopher’s Stone — also known as an elixir for life. The person who uses this can become immortal. Thus ensues an adventure to try and stop the stone from being stolen and misused. Who is after the stone and why? Why does Snape hate Harry so much? Will Harry, Ron and Hermione be in time to get the stone themselves and return it to Albus Dumbledore (the headmaster)?

Read the book to find out. [Don’t watch the movie first if you haven’t done either]

From the outset I must say I love the series. J. K. Rowling writes beautifully. It is a work of literature and you feel like you are there in person with Harry and the others. The characters are very well written and I must confess that Ron Weasley is my favourite. Although it is a book for children, I think adults will love it too. I started reading the books when I was 17 and continue to re-read them. It has action and adventure and a great deal of humour. The world of witches and wizards is bewitching and magical to say the least. And honestly, you want to be one yourself rather than the Muggles we are! Rowling has done a fantastic job in introducing us to a whole new world.

Unsurprisingly, I give this book a rating of 5.

Until next time,

Cheers!!!

19 comments on “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

  1. Pavithra says:

    Wow! I Cant believe it was forgotten here! Looking forward to the rest of the reviews!

  2. Debosmita says:

    Wasn’t it weird to review HP books? I mean, HP books are HP books – our all-time favourite. I never really thought of reading a review of HP books 🙂

    Can you believe I did not touch HP books for a long time, thinking it was just the hype. But I happened to read the first book once and boy, was I hooked.

    I love both the books and the movies, but obv, books have a whole new charm 🙂 And I so agree with you when you say that we wish the world of wizadry was real

    • Oh it is Debosmita! It’s like there’s so much to say and yet you don’t want to ramble on. I think while reading it I just thought, why not try and review it. Most people I know though love the books…so would actually like to hear views from people that haven’t liked the books! Might be an interesting view point. I know what you mean by thinking it was just hyped initially…I think I had a feeling like that too but was hooked after reading the first one. I gave up on the movies after the 3rd one was massacred….it had been my favourite book and I was sorely disappointed with the movie.

  3. Prajakta says:

    Harry is of 11 years old (not 12 yrs) when he first comes to know that he is a wizard. The whole series is just fantastic.

    But this was just a synopsis of the story of the first book. I was looking to a more detailed analysis. Looking forward to the next review.

    • Yep realised it while I was reading the third book and changed my mistake…unfortunately thanks to my lovely internet connection, the changes did not get updated. There aren’t many deeper themes in the first book though that I could find…more so from the second book. But yeah, the whole series is fantastic and it’s not possible to do it justice with a mere review…

  4. Titaxy says:

    I have read this one…and a couple other books and movies in this series. But reading the series from start to finish is on my to-do list for this year. 🙂

    • Do read it T! It’s wonderful…I’m not a fan of the movies though and stopped after the 3rd movie. I preferred the characters the way I’d imagined them and in the movies I think only Snape, Hagrid and Hermione do justice to the roles.

  5. Deepthi says:

    I just love this book and all the other books in the series,read each book atleast 15 times…My personal favorites were 4th and the 7th parts….Looking forward to an in depth discusssion and other reviews….

  6. Comfy says:

    I saw the first two movies and thought they were OK, not great which is why I was not interested in reading the books.

    Then on a trip to the library I saw all 6 books in a shelf together (the 7th was not out then) and that for some reason made me pick up the books (the lure of reading them all in one go). The first 2 I read in a hurry and did not enjoy much (maybe because of the movies I had watched) but loved them all after that. 🙂

    • Ah yes, the movies didn’t do justice to the books at all! I was so disappointed with them that I stopped after the third one where they pretty much massacred the book in my opinion….especially because it was my favourite book. So glad you decided to read all the books before watching the movies…

  7. […] Bond with Books books, books and more books… HomeAbout BWBBook BlogsBookshelf200920102011Contact UsFAQsRatings12345 ← Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone […]

  8. […] favourite has Harry Potter and his friends in their third year at school. (Read the reviews of the first and second if you haven’t already). It begins with the summer holidays at the Dursleys where […]

  9. […] read the first three reviews click: Book 1, Book 2, Book […]

  10. […] give it a rating of 5. [You can read reviews of Books 1, 2, 3 and 4 if you […]

  11. […] read reviews of the first, second, third, fourth and fifth book of the series, click on their respective […]

  12. […] you want to check out the reviews of books one, two, three, four, five and six, click on their respective […]

  13. […] Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (bondwithbooks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

