Atticus

…by Ron Hansen.

Atticus Cody, a 67 year old a rancher, lives in Colorado. He has two sons – Frank, the eldest and Scott. A little time passes after the family’s Christmas get together when Atticus and the others learn that Scott has committed suicide. Atticus travels to Resurreccion, Mexico to retrieve his son’s body. As he gets to talk to Scott’s friends and acquaintances in Mexico and explore the crime scene and Scott’s belongings, Atticus feels that his son might not have committed suicide, rather that he might have been murdered.

What does Atticus find that leads him to such a conclusion? What does he do with his discovery? What really happened to Scott? – one truth after another is revealed to uncover the mystery.

When I started reading the book, I thought I was in for a treat. As the tale progressed, I somehow lost interest. There were way too many unwanted details every now and then, I felt, which aided to distracting from the plot line. The author’s vivid descriptions of people and places made for a good read. But then, that same thing was overdone at many points, which made the novel somewhat slow and boring for my taste. As much as I enjoyed the vibrant images that the author’s words created, I would have liked it more if a little more emphasis was given to the emotional disturbance that the father (and the family) goes through upon hearing the news of his son’s demise. Also, compared to the pace of the beginning, the end came a little abruptly. So, this book, although it had a promising story, did not work for me.

Overall, an ok murder mystery, if you are looking for one.

My rating: 2*.

*for the rating scale, click here.

4 comments on “Atticus

  1. Hmm…I guess the good thing for me is that I can borrow it from the library if I need. It’s a shame it didn’t turn out to be too good…as you said, the start sounds promising.

    Y’know…when I read the title, for some reason I thought someone wrote a book on Atticus Finch — the father in To Kill a Mockingbird (sort of like how Geraldine Brooks has written a book ‘March’ based on the absent father in Little Women)

    • Titaxy says:

      I thought Atticus had something to do with the father in To Kill a Mockingbird too…and there’s a mention of it in the book too – how someone knows that name from Mockingbird 🙂

      I did like what the back cover said the book was about and that’s why I picked it up. But I wasn’t satisfied with the book – even though the storyline is quite intriguing – because I was expecting to see more of the emotional ride that the father goes through after learning of his son’s passing.

  2. Anbu says:

    The Plot looks good.. May be I will give it a try when nothing else is there.. 🙂

    The rating scale link has some problem.. It says ‘Page Not found’.

Leave a Reply

