The Almost Moon

When all is said and done, killing my mother came easily.

That’s the way ‘Almost Moon’ by Alice Sebold begins.

It is a book about a woman, Helen Knightly who ends up killing her mother without really meaning to. A mother whose love she has been trying to win since she was a little girl. A mother with mental health problems who couldn’t give her what she wanted.  The book looks at the next twenty four hours of Helen’s life as she tries to deal with her mother’s body and relives all the moments that led her to do the deed. The messed up life as a child growing up with an agoraphobic parent. The way in which her father maintained her mother’s illness. The way in which she grew up too soon. All the choices she made up till that point. What led her to the current actions? Was her mother really that tiresome? And what led to the choices she made in life herself?

The book did not really do much for me. What I thought to be a very different idea and interesting theme sort of just fell off. It ended up being a bit anti-climactic. It does have interesting parts in terms of Helen’s childhood and you can see how difficult it would have been for her to live with a mother like hers. It is also an easy read.

On the whole, I would rate it a 2. I understand Alice Sebold tries a different tact but so far she hasn’t really done it for me. Her other book The Lovely Bones was previously reviewed on our blog and has received rave reviews but I had different opinions about it. So who knows? Despite my rating, you might enjoy this book.

Until next time,

Cheers!!!

6 comments on “The Almost Moon

  1. Titaxy says:

    If not for this review, I wouldn’t think twice before picking up such a book. The story sounds very interesting. And I’ve heard rave reviews about the author’s Lovely Bones too. I’ve been meaning to read that one for a while now, but haven’t done it yet. If and when I read it, if I end up liking that one, maybe I will pick this one to read too. 🙂

    • Y’know…for me, even The Lovely Bones would have been about a 2 or 3 rating…maybe because it was so hyped up before I read it that it fell flat. Like this one, there really wasn’t any climax as such…and those are what make a story for me. In both her books, the climax happens at the very beginning…and grips you…but then, because of that, the end is anti-climactic…in my opinion of course! 🙂 But yeah, if you read the books, do let me know your thoughts…

  2. Scribby says:

    sounds saddening to me ! Don’t if I would go for it….

Leave a Reply

