Front Cover Friday – 14

This week’s FCF has two different covers of the same book. The first one definitely fascinates me a lot more than the second one but they are both quite nice in their own way. The butterflies represent something delicate…something to be cherished…something quite beautiful, yet fragile. And the cover on the top is all the more powerful given that someone is holding the butterfly.

Here’s a brief synopsis of the book as found on Borders:

Alice Howland is proud of the life she worked so hard to build. A Harvard professor, she has a successful husband and three grown children. When she begins to grow forgetful, she dismisses it for as long as she can, but when she gets lost in her own neighbourhood she knows that something has gone terribly wrong. She finds herself in the rapidly downward spiral of Alzheimer’s Disease. She is fifty years old. Suddenly she has no classes to teach, no new research to conduct, no invited lectures to give. Ever again. Unable to work, read and, increasingly, take care of herself, Alice struggles to find meaning and purpose in her everyday life as her concept of self gradually slips away. But Alice is a remarkable woman, and her family, yoked by history and DNA and love, discover more about her and about each other, in their quest to keep the Alice they know for as long as possible. Losing her yesterdays, her short-term memory hanging on by a couple of frayed threads, she is living in the moment, living for each day. But she is still Alice.

This book is on my “to read” list…and I must admit, the cover on the top caught my eye first and only then did I read the synopsis. the book seems like it would be an interesting read (and my worst nightmare!) If anyone has read it, do let us know your views.

Until next time,

Cheers!!!

9 comments on “Front Cover Friday – 14

  1. Nu says:

    Book covers are lovely…specially the first one !

    The story resembles a Bollywood movie ‘You,me aur Hum’

    I think the book is going to be nice !

  2. Titaxy says:

    Oh I saw this one recently too – the first cover, that is. And I loved it. The second one if nice too! Story sounds interesting, but I have to finish the books I’ve bought before I go buy more to read πŸ˜€

    • Nu says:

      same with me T…I’ve at least 20 book to finish reading before I buy new ones..and this time I’ve promised myself that I’ll not buy until I finish the unread lot !

      Why do authors write so much and so fast,hai na ? hmmmpf

      • Titaxy says:

        20? ok, now I feel a little better πŸ˜› I don’t have that many unread ones. There might be 7-8 lying around and I sure am not going to buy before I finish those πŸ˜€

        • Get this…I just counted mine and I have 25 books on my bookshelf yet to be read! I really have to stop buying books without having finished what I already have!

          • Nu says:

            Yippie…now me too can sigh in relief…I’m 5 less than you πŸ™‚

            we’re the same around the world…that’s why we are tagged as ‘Book Lovers’ πŸ˜‰ No stopping and no thinking…just unconditional ever growing love for books πŸ™‚

  3. Swaram says:

    I luvv the first one PB πŸ™‚

  4. […] Here’s the link to the Front Cover Friday post for this book, by Psych Babbler. […]

Leave a Reply

