Almost Single

Quick Data

Author: Advaita Kala

ISBN: 978-81-7223-655-7

Price: 195 INR

Excerpt from the the back of the book as it is:

‘My name is Aisha Bhatia; I am twenty-nine years old and single. I work as a Guest Relations Manager at the Grand Orchid Hotel. I dine at luxury hotels and stay in five-stars during my travels; I can name old and new wines with great élan, and can tell my cheeses apart. I tolerate my job, hate my boss, and bond big-time with my friends, while routinely suffering from umbilical cord whiplash. I don’t really care for my vital stat at the moment, and I don’t have a cute/funny nickname either. Hence this introduction: it stinks, but it sticks. In fact, sometimes I think there should be support groups like the AA out there for people like me….’

Ironically this book didn’t reach my heart…may be because this was a wrong pick for me since I don’t usually read chick lit..or may be the book is not that great..whatever that is my rating for this book is not more than 2

Though the story goes quiet straight without much frills and zig-zags…which is a plus point I guess…the author writes well only if she could attempt writing some other stuff may be !

11 comments on “Almost Single

  1. Meira says:

    Agreed. I do like my chick lit from time to time, but this was too cliched perhaps. Will try her next book, whenever she writes one, though.

  2. arti says:

    One of the chick-lits i would recommend [if you wish to read one.. 😉 ] is “piggies on the railway”. Read it, enjoyed it and well am recommending it.. 😀
    Almost Single, as you put it, “didn’t reach my heart” either. It was one of those past-time reads, i usually delegate to my train rides.

  3. bedazzled says:

    I read quite a bit of chicklits.. this book was really boring .. i abandoned it after 20 pages.

  4. Pesto Sauce says:

    Seems I was not the only one to find this boring

Leave a Reply

