Front Cover Friday – 7

This week’s cover that appealed to me is a book I haven’t read from an author I have never heard of. But it still managed to catch my eye.

There is something about that blood red balloon in a grey and white background that is simultaneously intriguing and disturbing. It gives me goosebumps and reminds me of something sinister…of something bad that has happened in this house (The red of course, symbolising blood). At the same time, there is the symbol that the book may have something to do with children…the balloon. I can still remember being fascinated by helium balloons and how they would stay stuck up there on the ceiling until they lost the helium. The book to me looks like it might be about innocence lost.

According to Fantastic Fiction (UK), this is a synopsis of the book:

TV producer Fliss Benson receives an anonymous card at work. The card has sixteen numbers on it, arranged in four rows of four — numbers that mean nothing to her. On the same day, Fliss finds out she’s going to be working on a documentary about miscarriages of justice involving cot death mothers wrongly accused of murder. The documentary will focus on three women: Helen Yardley, Sarah Jaggard and Rachel Hind. All three women are now free, and the doctor who did her best to send them to prison for life, child protection zealot Dr Judith Duffy, is under investigation for misconduct. For reasons she has shared with nobody, this is the last project Fliss wants to be working on. And then Helen Yardley is found dead at her home, and in her pocket is a card with sixteen numbers on it, arranged in four rows of four …

After reading the synopsis, the book does appeal to me. It looks like it could be a light read (I love thrillers and mysteries even though I am now a pro at figuring out who-dun-it) and tackles the serious issue of child protection at the same time. I think I am going to keep my eyes open at my local library for this one.

Until next time,

Cheers!!!

6 comments on “Front Cover Friday – 7

  1. BlueMist says:

    OMG the synopsis is very captivating. πŸ™‚ I am not big on thrillers but this one looks very interesting. The cover is very well done. A lot of creativity and metaphors to describe the story line. Loved it ! πŸ™‚
    Even though I would make fun of red balloons πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. Nu says:

    I think we need to read this book πŸ™‚ and yeh the cover is lovely !

  3. Titaxy says:

    I love ballons and this red one looks good. The cover and the story line is intriguing. Will definitely pick it up if and when I get a chance (if and when I get back to reading, I should say 😦 )

Leave a Reply

