Front Cover Friday – 5

Shoot the Moon by Billie Letts

I’m sure you must have already guessed what attracted me to the book cover. The Moon, of course! Look at it…beautiful, yeah?  The magnificent full moon covered partially by the tree is just very pleasant to look at, don’t you think? Also, if you look closely, there is this ripple effect that shows…which adds to the charm, me thinks. And then of course the delightful play with colors – the splendid shade of night’s blue sky and lush green of the grass is just plain amazing. I loved it!!! You?

Oh the swing on the cover is one of my unfulfilled childhood wishes. I never had one, but always always wanted one. The moment I looked at the cover, it brought back the memories of the time I spent wishing for one as a child. Even if you haven’t yearned for one as a child, I think, it will still evoke the memories of the bygone days because of the association of that tree swing with childhood, no?

Although the cover has all these remarkable aspects, it looked to me like it lacked ‘something’ – such a picturesque surrounding and no one to enjoy it? Why? I knew why only when I read the story synopsis from Shelfari

In 1972, windswept DeClare, Oklahoma, was consumed by the murder of a young mother, Gaylene Harjo, and the disappearance of her baby, Nicky Jack. When the child’s pajama bottoms were discovered on the banks of Willow Creek, everyone feared that he, too, had been killed, although his body was never found. Nearly thirty years later, Nicky Jack mysteriously returns to DeClare, shocking the town and stirring up long-buried memories. But what he discovers about the night he vanished is more astonishing than he or anyone could have imagined. Piece by piece, what emerges is a story of dashed hopes, desperate love, and a secret that still cries out for justice…and redemption.

Murder, mystery, despair, redemption – no wonder the book cover lacks that ‘something.’ The story sounds like something I would love, definitely. So yes, this book also goes into my never-ending list of to-reads. How about you?

Like it? No?

6 comments on “Front Cover Friday – 5

  1. Smitha says:

    Lovely cover! I love the colours! The synopsis does sound interesting!

    And I love the new header! It is so apt – so perfect for this blog!

  2. Nice cover…I especially like how the blue and green merge into one in the middle….it’s like a painting…I almost want to get rid of the title and author’s name from it all…. 😛

  3. Nu says:

    Wow the tyre swing …haven’t seen it in ages 🙂 Lovely !! And the title is something different na… “shoot the moon” hmmm..

Leave a Reply

