Good Omens

…by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett.

Get ready – The Anti-Christ (well, actually, the Adversary, Destroyer of Kings, Angel of the Bottomless Pit, Great Beast that is called Dragon, Prince of This World, Father of Lies, Spawn of Satan, and Lord of Darkness) is bornArmageddon is to beginApocalypse is about to happen.  This is a novel about all that. As Heaven and Hell prepare for the war that will bring about the end of the world, they hand over the task of having the Anti-Christ raised in earth among humans to Crowley, the demon and Aziraphale, the angel. The demon and the angel are left clueless as to where the real Anti-Christ is when they find out that the wrong baby was switched during birth. And there goes the story about…

How they go about finding the real Anti-Christ. Whether or not the Anti-Christ knows his true colors. The events that lead to the judgment day. What happens on that day – is there a war between the Heaven and the Hell? Does the Anti-Christ join hands with his troops? Does humanity come to an end – If so, who won – good (Heaven) or evil (Hell)? If not, then why, what stopped it from happening?

That’s the story in short. There are many other interesting characters and incidents in the novel that I won’t be able to do any justice to writing a summary…you have to read it to get the big picture. Now my thoughts…

I was very skeptical when I picked up this book because I wasn’t sure if it was something I would enjoy. But just after reading a few pages, I was immersed into it. The dark, twisted sense of humor in the writing kept me going. I smiled, I laughed, I smiled more, and I laughed even more. Page after page of unending humor is a treat, I tell you. The conversations between the demon and the angel, the demon’s cool, not-so-good (well, duh!), not-so-bad character, the friendship between the angel and the demon, the common interest they share – stopping the Apocalypse from happening because they find the human race amusing in their own ways, the characters of Anti-Christ (11 years old) and his friends – everything was put together so well in the novel.

Too many incidents and characters pop up here and there, but everything weaves back beautifully to the central theme of the story. The writing style is simple and amusing. It won’t fail to put a grin on your face. The story follows a swift pace, without many unwanted tangents.

The book was not only funny, but also philosophical at certain points, at least I felt so – how, the fact that the Anti-Christ got away from growing up under the influence of Good and Evil and was brought up just as a normal human child, molds his character; the demon, in one of his conversations, tells the angel that, at times, even Hell can’t manage to match the amount or torture humans bring upon their own kind; etc. brings some very interesting thoughts to ponder upon.

Overall, a highly recommended read…I’m pretty sure I will read it again someday.

Oh, did I mention that Crowley, the demon, is the new love of my life? The man (ooops, the demon) drives a Bentley, owns this awesome apartment in London, has this great sense of humor, isn’t afraid of taking risks…what can I say, I’ve fallen for him head over heels. Do let me know of your favorite character.

My rating: 5*.

*for the rating scale, click here.

11 comments on “Good Omens

  1. This sounds perfect..for what I need right about now T. I am going to go pick it us as soon as I can..and will come back and comment once I am done.

    Just reading your write up on it made me smile 🙂

  2. Nu says:

    Hey nice review here..hmm gotta check the book !

    Oh well congratulations on Crowley 😉 At least you fell for someone !!

  3. Hmm…sounds interesting. Is it sci-fi? I’m not big on the sci-fi genre (apart from X-files). I thought Pratchett wrote sci-fi. I think though I need to read something light and humourous at the moment. Read a book (which I will review shortly) that really brought me down… 😦

    As for characters I’ve fallen for….hmmm….that’s hard. But I’d say Ron Weasley. 😛

    • Titaxy says:

      Yeah Pratchett is known for his sci-fi work and that’s why I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy the book ’cause I’m not a big sci-fi fan either…but this isn’t sci-fi, at least I don’t think so. This might just be the ‘light and humorous’ read you are looking for 🙂 Give it a try 🙂

      Waiting to read your review on the book that brought you down…

  4. Smitha says:

    You know, I never picked up Terry Pratchet’s books because of the sci-fi aspect – but your review makes me want to read it!

    I am so going to pick this one up!

    • Titaxy says:

      Oh yeah that’s exactly why I was not sure about whether or not I would enjoy reading this book at first too. But it was a good book…I wouldn’t categorize it as sci-fi, but it might just be me.

      Do let me know if you liked it 🙂

  5. Arti says:

    Ah.. Terry Pratchet books are absolutely awesome! Good Omens in one of the best in his collection.. Nice review! Reminded me of why i loved the book.. 🙂

    I liked Aziraphale’s character the best.. But, yeah Crowley is the coolest!

    Happy reading..

    • Titaxy says:

      I haven’t read any other of Prachett’s works, but definitely loved this one 🙂 Might pick up some other book of his in the future 🙂

      And yeah, I loved Aziraphale’s character too, but definitely fell in love with the cool demon 😛

Leave a Reply

