Front Cover Friday – 4

House of Sand and Fog by Andre Dubus III

This book caught my attention when I was browsing through the isles of Borders a week or so ago. I was instantly attracted to it…thank goodness I didn’t have my wallet on me, otherwise I would’ve surely bought it right away. What captured me in an instant was the black and white of the scheme of the cover. I’m a die hard fan of the color black and there’s just something so fascinating about the B/W combo that pulls me towards it.

And then of course the title of the book added to me taking more interest in the book – the first thing that came to my mind after reading the word ‘sand’ was ‘desert’ and the word ‘fog’ pulled out a picture of a ‘chilly day’. The contrast in the images that the words brought was intriguing.  Even otherwise, for me, the word ‘fog’ in itself would have done the trick. Fog, to me, relates to something mystical. Even at the cost of sounding childish or immature, I will tell you that one my most cherished experiences of my lifetime are those drives on a foggy night, especially if it’s in a mountain range…it’s magical. It feels like you are between clouds, close to the sky and it gives you a feeling that there’s nothing you can’t achieve…if at all that makes any sense.

Anyway…

Here’s the story summary from Shelfari

A former colonel in the Shaw’s Iranian army is forced to flee with his family to American, and becomes destitute as he spends the remaining family money so his daughter can find a suitable husband. He buys a house that the reader soon learns the county mistakenly put up for auction. The owner, Kathy Nicolo, a former drug is now homeless who begins to abuse alcohol. An unhappily married police officer with children attempts to help her get her house back, and he and Kathy commence an affair that leaves both of them feeling guilty. What ensues are the natural consequences of poor decision making, stubbornness and excessive pride, dishonesty, and unwillingness to communicate, all leading to the inevitable downward spiral of events.

Given that I love reading powerful, emotionally intense stories, I’m going to add this to my list of to-read. Also, this being categorized as a thriller, suspense, drama, tragedy and what not, I’m so looking forward to getting my hands on it.

So, the book cover caught my attention, the title captivated me further and the storyline made me add the book to my wish list.

What do you think? Have you read the book? If so, did you like it?

18 comments on “Front Cover Friday – 4

  1. BlueMist says:

    Loved the cover. Very captivating. and the title too is very catchy. As much as colors draw me so is sepia and B/W world. 🙂
    Good pick T. Tell me about Fog. Every alternate day the world outside window disappears. 🙂

  2. Matt says:

    Eerie feeling looking at the cover,….. Looks like the viewpoint of a wolf looking at a haunted house on a full moon night …..

  3. […] love fog 2010 February 12 by Titaxy As I was writing today’s post on Bond with Books, I started to digress to discuss my love for fog. So I decided to put up a post […]

  4. I do love the black and white scheme…but gotta admit, it looks very sinister! Gives you the feeling that there’s deep dark secrets….sounds interesting!

    • Titaxy says:

      Exactly the word I was looking for when I was writing this, but couldn’t get myself to get it :). Sinister, yes…that’s what attracted me even more 🙂

  5. Nu says:

    It’s giving that retro look 🙂 Nice pick of course T !! And yes the book sounds to be nice…let’s see when anyone of us reads it to do a review 🙂

Leave a Reply

