The other side of the story

By Marian Keyes.

My first read of Marian Keyes Books. I loved this book from start to finish. In fact it kept me hooked. I feel she is powerful writer and has way with words. She makes these characters alive and almost you can see them. Above all the way she engages the reader in the flow of the story and leaves you with one big happy feeling. Something I adore. Writing a 600+ paged story that can keep readers engaged through out ; without making it dramatically and ridiculously romantic is a skill IMO.

The Plot –

It is story of Jojo; Lily and Gemma and their entangled lives. Books connect three of them. Jojo is highly successful literary agent and at that point she falls in love with her immediate Boss.

Lilly and Gemma were best friends until Lilly snatched Anton from Gemma; as Gemma believes so. Jojo helps Lily and Gemma to get their first books published.

Three of them connected at some point yet having their individual voices and existences through out the book; all neatly woven together. Gemma’s fantasies based upon her dad walking out of her house and her mom going through the set back; eventually Gemma’s upside down life. Lilly in the success of her first book followed by the writers block; her amazing boyfriend and underlying guilt. Jojo the glamorous yet very approachable; struggling with her career ladder and love life. Finally everything falls and place and we have a happy ending.

I think the writer has been sucessful to challenge the prejudiced opinion about Chick lit. I am looking forward to read more of her work.

14 comments on “The other side of the story

  1. I remember reading only one book of her’s so far: Is there anybody out there? I remember finding it quite all right compared to what I expected. I don’t read chick-lit too much and if I do, it’s to have something light to read after all the emotionally heavy stuff (like Jodi Picoult!) This sounds interesting…will see if I get it as a bargain somewhere or else will check it out at the local library. (I still don’t buy chicklit at full price!) 😛

    • BlueMist says:

      Oh prejudice against Chick lit is world known. 😀 😀
      I am in no mood to read heavy and sad stuff after paying so much money on books. So light and happy reads work for me. 🙂

  2. Nu says:

    Okay great.. thanks for introducing this author 🙂

  3. Titaxy says:

    I had added this book to my wishlist yesterday after reading a good review on amazon (i think). And bingo, your review is up :D.

  4. First book review here right? Was looking forward to it! 😀

  5. Smitha says:

    I LOVE Marianne keyes! I have read all of hers so far and loved ALL of it 🙂

    You know, your reading pattern seems to much like my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

