The God of Small Things

…by Arundhati Roy.

A story set in the 1960’s Kerala (for the most part); it is about the lives of fraternal twins, Rahel and Estha, who live with their divorced Mother, grandmother, uncle and grand aunt. It starts with their cousin Sophie’s funeral and goes back to reveal all the events that lead to her morbid death. The book gets into how every little incident can add up and bring about a wave of change and how life can, indeed, turn upside down in just a day. It touches everything from abuse to sex to spread of Communism to death to discrimination.

It’s a good book. Not too great, not too bad. And here’s why…

I liked the realistic portrayal of characters. A mother’s pure affection for her children, yet her frustrations as to how they might be keeping her away from other things. A sibling’s hope to be close to her twin forever, yet life’s twists that puts them on different paths. A child’s innocent mind. Deaths and other hardships of life. It comes to show that life isn’t always rosy. And it doesn’t always have happy endings.

The author’s writing style was different. It took me a while to get used to it, but I enjoyed it. When I read the book, it took me sometime to follow the time line. The way the story was all over the place confused me a little, but once I got the big picture, I started to follow the flow of the story. The author’s use of metaphors and similes every now and then made it a delight to read.

One thing I could not bring myself to enjoy was her way of Capitalizing words in between sentences. Maybe I just didn’t get the point or something, but it was a little distracting for me.

So, overall, a good read. Not too great, not too bad.

My rating: 3*.

*for the rating scale, click here.

8 comments on “The God of Small Things

  1. Hmmm…I did not actually like this book. The writing style particularly annoyed me. I found myself thinking…here’s this author attempting to tackle pretty hardcore themes but somehow making a mess of it. I couldn’t fathom how in the world she won the Booker prize.

    • Titaxy says:

      It wasn’t that bad once you got used to the writing style. But I agree, it wasn’t too great a book or anything. It didn’t leave me with a heavy heart although the of the book was emotional. Just about ok for reading.

  2. I read this book..hmm..I would say 11-12 years back..and I recall not liking it. The only thing I remember now is the author writing about someone eating something (I totally forget now) and describing the saliva mingling and the whole process.
    This book is something that did not hold me as I read and was totally forgettable. There are quite a few books that I read back then that I remember..this not so much..

    • Titaxy says:

      Hmmm…when I started reading it, the first 50 or so pages I was deciding between whether to continue or give up. Because it was just too different, her writing. But then I continued anyway and when I finished the book, I was very much at ease with her writing. I guess I got used to it.

      Story is good. But the way she has written it left no impact on me. I couldn’t really empathize with the characters much although I was eventually ok with the writing. So yeah, it’s not memorable. It doesn’t stay with you after you finish it. And that’s why I said that it’s ok, but not too great like all the rave reviews I hears before reading it.

  3. Nu says:

    Good that you wrote about it here..I was more than twice tempted to read it [i have it in my home library already,but haven’t read] but something inside me just rejected this book ! Don’t know why..so may be I’ll not pick it up in near future at least 🙂

    • Titaxy says:

      Well Nu…as I said, it’s not too great. But not too bad either. Since you have the book, you might as well start it when you are bored :D. But I’m guessing the writing style would be bit of a distraction, at least for a while. And that might make you put it down :D…but if you do read, share your views. Would like to know..

  4. Smitha says:

    This was one book, which so totally disappointed me when I read it. I don’t know why, but it just did not appeal to me 😦

Leave a Reply

