Same Kind of Different As Me

…by Ron Hall and Denver Moore. Ron Hall, a self-made millionaire, narrates the story of his life – where he grew up, how he became an art dealer, how he met and married his wife, Deborah. Denver Moore, a man who grew up as a slave in a cotton plantation, tells his tale – how his life was as a slave, how he escaped slavery and stayed homeless for years in Texas. With each of them recounting his life experiences, the story moves on to how they come together and become friends because of Deborah and how the discovery of Deborah’s cancer and her passing away brings Ron and Denver closer.

A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

…reads the back cover of the book and that was enough to intrigue me to make me buy the book. I started reading it with great expectations – I was looking forward to read a tale of friendship. But I was letdown. While few chapters of the book are insightful to take the reader into the hardships of slavery, the majority of the book left me unsatisfied with its religious nature. And even the emotions of love, friendship, etc were not strongly portrayed – Ron and Denver talk about how they got to know each other, how their friendship developed and such, but all that felt a little forced and unnatural to me. The strong bond that the authors develop and set out tell the story of doesn’t come through as well as they intend it to; the writing, although easy to read, lacks depth. I kept reading the book expecting to get something out of it, but with each chapter, especially the episodes of God / angels appearing and talking to Denver and Deborah, it just got overly religious and preachy for my taste.

Overall, it might be a good read for someone who has strong religious beliefs and wants a tale of faith and friendship, but otherwise this book might be a disappointment.

My rating: 1*.

*for the rating scale, click here.