Tag Tuesday – 2

Hello fellow bloggers,

Welcome to another round of  Tag Tuesday! For this week, here’s the question I’d like to pose to you…

As an avid reader, do you buy brand new books or prefer to buy them second-hand or even borrow from the library? Are there any books you just have to buy? What’s your criteria for buying new books or borrowing from a library?

Do share your views and take part in the discussion…

Until next time,

Cheers!!!

16 comments on “Tag Tuesday – 2

  1. Smitha says:

    I read way too much to buy every book I read. So I pick up all the books from my library. Having said that, I buy books which I really love, and the ones that I am sure to re-read. Other than that, I survive on library books. I have no issues with having to wait a litle bit longer to get hold of the latest best-seller.

    And picking up books from the library allows me to pick up unknown(to me) authors and it does not hurt even if I don’t happen to like a book. So in that sense, I would love it to have access to a good library while creating my mini library at home stocked with the books I really love :)

    • Do you find that you read a book from the library and love it and then have to buy it to own it?? I guess what you have is the cost-effective way…wish I had that will power. I can’t wait for some books…so I end up buying most of my books! I’ve now put a stop on my spending on books for some months though… :|

  2. Scribbler says:

    I like to buy brand new books and from book stores [read:authentic books basically]

    Though as I said in the last tag that I buy books on impulse,some of them turn out to be very boring so those books go back to the book store who buys second hand books or some road side books seller, but don’t stick to my library :)

  3. UmaS says:

    I used to buy books before. But after my recent shift to Chennai, I am thankfully located nearby a wonderful library, so I borrowing to read now. :)
    But, I would love to have some titles for myself, to read whenever there is a wish to read. :)
    Yes, I’ve bought second hand books too…the whole Harry Potter set, I got for 1000/- bucks only…we need to look out constantly, when the good set comes, buy from them. Its fun shopping there too. :)

  4. Titaxy says:

    I used to use the library all the time when I was in school. Back then, I couldn’t afford to buy all the books I wanted, so library it was. But now that I have the luxury to buy the books, I do. I prefer to own a copy of the books I read / want to read. Although, there have been times where a book I picked up failed miserably to live up to my expectations and in those cases, I have given up those books (which have been only very few).

    I used to buy only new books until recently when I started going for second hand copies. I still haven’t gotten very used to the idea of buying a second hand books – I like the fresh smell of a new book – so I don’t know if I will continue buying more second hand books or not. I hope I do…but will see. :)

    • Ditto T…love the smell of new books. I don’t buy new books at full price though…try to get bargains for them when I can! :) I’ve put a cap on it currently though…been spending too much and trying to save at the moment.

  5. noname says:

    Borrow from the library, mostly. I also like to buy/surf second-hand books from sidewalks ($1 etc). One can be really surprised by what one may find there.

    • Do you find that you can wait for books though? I find that with the library, new books are so hard to get. And as for second-hand books from the sidewalk…haven’t seen anything like that here unfortunately. And even if there were, I am very picky when it comes to what books look like! :P

  6. noname says:

    Honestly, I don’t keep track of which new books are coming out, so I don’t really wait for anything. From a personal standpoint, there is so much that has already been written and yet to be read, I don’t really need to wait for anything new.

    • Titaxy says:

      I agree, noname. I buy new releases if I come across an interesting one while browsing in a bookstore, but I hardly ever wait for something to come out.

    • I don’t wait for many new books either unless it’s an author I love…like Jodi Picoult for instance and the Harry Potter books…but I guess when I see a new release at the store, I’m more likely to buy it than wait for it to be available at the library if I like it.

  7. PNA says:

    I’ve no problems at all doing all the three. Buying second hand books became a habit in Hyd, because of the many road side book markets, the Sunday Bazaar selling books in good shape:)

    I remember, I bought a book my Camus for just 10 bucks because the bookseller never knew the worth of the tiny copy he had :P

    And I don’t keep a track of the new books that come out or the best sellers, so waiting counts for nothing… except for the last two books in the Harry Potter series. I got an entire new box set for 1500 rupees online when the Deathly Hallows was out.

    And I am proud of my mini library, which has almost all the English classics, Enid blytons, perry masons, and some best sellers, fiction and non-fiction… :D

Leave a Reply

