Fight Club

…by Chuck Palahniuk.

Having heard million times about how good a movie Fight Club is and having liked the previous novel I read of the author’s, I decided to read this one as soon as I could get my hands on one and here I am reviewing it now. Let me start by saying that reading this novel was an experience in itself. It’s not too easy to give a gist of the story without letting out too much info, so please forgive my meager attempt at writing a summary –

The story revolves around the narrator, an insomniac. He shares the story of his life starting from how his house, and all his possessions, is destroyed by fire and how due to that he moves in with Tyler Durden. They both end up starting underground fight club, where men fight each other for as much as and as long as they can to feel a sense of accomplishment. What starts with one fight club, one night a week goes on to become something much bigger and the narrator and Tyler then begin working on “Project Mayhem.” As things progress, things get too violent for the narrator and he comes face to face with some shocking revelations about himself, his relationship with Tyler and so on.

There’s more to it, a lot more, but the thing is that it’s not just about the plot in itself. The writing style – narrated by an insomniac, the story swiftly moves from one topic to another, which gives the reader a chance to experience his incoherent thought process and I loved that. Dark, witty, gross at times, beautiful at others, simply straightforward yet profound – a brilliant piece of work.

What more can I say…here’s some of my favorite quotes from the book –

Losing all hope was freedom.

This is your life, and it’s ending one minute at a time.

It’s only after you’ve lost everything, that you’re free to do anything.

You buy furniture, you tell yourself, this is the last sofa I will ever need in my life. buy the sofa, then for a couple of years you’re satisfied that no matter what goes wrong, at least you’ve got your sofa issue handled, then the right set of dishes, then the perfect bed. The drapes. The rug. Then you’re trapped in your lovely nest, and the things that you used to own, now they own you.

Now I can’t wait to watch the movie and see how different it is compared to the book. If you’ve seen the movie and liked it, then don’t miss reading the book because I’m sure, as brilliant as the movie is, it might not have covered everything the book has.

My rating: 4*.

*for the rating scale, click here.