My Sister’s Keeper

…by Jodi Picoult.

Thanks to Psych Babbler for suggesting the book; I finished reading it in a day. And that must definitely say something about where this review is headed.

My Sister’s Keeper starts off with Anna seeking a lawyer to sue her parents for medical emancipation. Kate, Anna’s elder sister, is diagnosed with a rare form of Leukemia when she (Kate) is two years old. Since Kate’s elder brother Jesse doesn’t happen to match to be the donor, their parents decide to have another baby, Anna, who is genetically designed to be a perfect donor for Kate. Right from birth, Anna undergoes numerous medical procedures, from blood transfer to bone morrow, to keep her sister alive. When in her early teens, her parents decide that she would have to donate one of her kidneys to her sister and that is when Anna seeks the help of an attorney to keep her parents from making any medical decisions pertaining her. She claims that she has the right to decide whether or not she wants to donate a kidney to her sister, and that she has decided not to undergo the procedure.

How Anna’s parents react to the lawsuit…how Anna handles the pressures…what a family goes through during times like these…the ethical and moral dilemmas…the psychological effects on Anna and Jesse when the parents focus is mostly on the dying kid, Kate…a mother’s love…a father’s concerns – the author handles all of these and more in this emotional and touching tale.

It took me on a roller-coaster ride right from the beginning. The author presents both the parent’s point of view and the child’s perspective very well. It’s not easy to take sides…at one point I seemed to have the urge to support Anna after reading what she had to say, but then I couldn’t because the parent’s angle was valid too. When Sara and Brian (Anna’s parents) bring forth their side of the story – the difficulties, the dilemmas, the pressures of dealing with a dying child – it put me on a tough spot as to who is right. I guess, sometimes, as the book suggests, there’s no right or wrong. Not everything can be black or white.

The story was gripping. I loved the narrative style – each character gets their chance to voice their story. The twists and turns were more than enough to keep me hooked until I finished the book. The ending came as bit of a shock, but I guess such is life….you can’t have it all.

So, overall I loved reading this book. Highly recommended.

My rating: 5*.

*for the rating scale, click here.