The Lost Symbol

…by Dan Brown.

the_lost_symbol

Let me begin by saying that I’ve read all of Mr.Brown’s novels and I respect his work a lot.

Brown’s dedication to putting so much effort into all that research he does for a novel marvels me. And I’ve always enjoyed the mystery and the suspense behind the story, be it DaVinci Code or Angels and Demons. The thrill ride that his books take me on amazes me – it captivates my attention and definitely keeps me engrossed until I finish reading the book.

But his latest creation, The Lost Symbol, did not do the magic. The book is about Robert Langdon, the Harvard Symbolist, trying to solve a mystery to rescue his good friend and to save the country from a “national security crisis.”

To start with, it was too predictable, at least for me. Once I got into the flow of things, I could easily identify the mystery behind the characters, guess how the villain fit into the whole story, foresee the next move, etc. So, obviously, there was nothing gripping about the book.

Moreover, I felt that the book was dragged. There was way too much unnecessary information every now and then. If I were to read it ever again, I will be sure to skip certain sections because they held no importance to where the story was headed. So, yeah, there was a considerable amount of unrelated info in the book, which in turn bored me.

Last but not the least – the thrill behind finding the “lost word / symbol” itself. I kept reading the book with hopes that maybe it will end well and leave me satisfied after 300 odd pages. But it did not. Somehow, I couldn’t appreciate the way the book ended. All was fine, mystery was solved, and everyone was safe – sure. But what was revealed at the end after building up so much suspense behind that “lost word / symbol” left me saying “Tell me it’s not over and there is something more. This is utterly disappointing.

On a positive note, I liked the concept of Noetic Science he had described in the book. It’s fascinating to know that our minds might have the power to bring about change in the physical world. I haven’t read much on the topic yet, but it is an interesting one and I’m sure I will look more into it.

So, overall, this latest novel of Dan Brown, I feel, is not up to the par he has set for himself. He can do better…much better.

My rating: 1*.

*for the rating scale, click here.

12 comments on “The Lost Symbol

  1. Hmm, haven’t read this one yet. Been thinking of getting it once the price drops! :P

    So it wasn’t that great, huh? I don’t like predictable books…but then again, I am now able to predict the culprit in most thrillers/mysteries…they have lost their charm. Will still try and read it as a light read…

    • Titaxy says:

      I don’t know…I didn’t like it much. It was a v typical Dan Brown novel…so it was easy to predict what was gonna happen. Anyway…do read it and share whether or not you like it. :-)

  2. Xuxana says:

    *sigh*

    This is yet another review that doesn’t highly recommend this novel.

    I think I’ll skip it. The book that is. I won’t bother reading it.

    • Titaxy says:

      Hi there,

      Personally, I’m a fan of Dan Brown, but this novel somehow didn’t bring out the best. And it so was a typical Brown novel that I could easily predict what was gonna happen and all. That made me lose interest right away. I finished reading it only because I didn’t want to leave it half-way done.

      Anyway, I don’t highly recommend it…but it might serve as a good pass time if there is nothing better to do :-) .

      Welcome, and keep visiting.

  3. BlueMist says:

    I loved Da vinci Code but could not enjoy the movie. May be I will skip reading this one and watch the movie this time around. :P
    and I completely agree with you on the research part. and topics he touches are completely out of box.

  4. viswajithkn says:

    Actually I thought this book was just about O.K. I read it out of boredom and lack of options. First of all to me, the villain of the story was a bit of a surprise though I was able to guess them out in Da Vinci Code or Angels and Demons. Secondly the “National Security Crisis” being given as a reason for the CIA’s involvement in trying to stop the antagonist was a bit flimsy for me. I suppose all his novels will make good comic “VIJAYAKANTH” movies in tamil.

    • Titaxy says:

      Yeah, it was just OK. Even I completed reading it because I didn’t want to leave it half done. And the villain, for me, was clear right from the moment I read some background about the family. So it became too predictable.

      His other novels are definitely better than this one.

  5. lostworld says:

    First time here. You’ve got a very nice blog out here. I’m a bookworm & I’ve always wanted to read a blog exclusively for books along with reveiews :-)

    I agree wholly with your review on Lost Symbol. I wasn’t impressed at all! The man is just going down the same lane .. :-(

Leave a Reply

