Gently falls the bakula

Quick Data
Author: Sudha Murty
ISBN: 978-0-14310-377-6

Price: 150 INR

Other works: Here

A story of two neighbors-Shrimati and Shrikant. They study together and fall in love. Their family backgrounds are distinct and yet they decide to get married.  Shrikant works in an IT company and is soon very successful.HE gets busier in his work and becomes ambitious to an extent that he forgets keeps Shrimati aside from his life. On other hand Shrimati leaves her career and her ambitions behind and supports Shrikant as a good housewife sensible and organised personal assistant.

But does Shrimati continues to follow this path of her life which is taking her no where? Does Shrimati realize that she is no more counted in Shrikant’s world as a wife but mere organizer ? Shrimati soon reaches to a point where she is forced to question herself that ‘where does she stand in Shrikant’s life ?’ ‘what is aim of her own existence?’ ‘what about her career and ambitions?’

A story of  a female who gave up her career to fulfill the family responsibilities. A story of a marriage which takes place due to a soft puppy love under the Bakula tree and looses it’s essence in the race of career and ambitions.

Pluses:Easy read. Gripping.Not very lengthy. Takes you through the stages of a relationship- right from its inception.

Minuses:The end is saddening but as you read the entire story you might feel that it’s logical in every way.

I bought this book for 2 reasons: I wanted to read Sudha Murty and the story appeared very intense and gripping.And as it turned out the book really takes you through the heart and mind of intelligent and responsible woman and ambitious and courageous man. It is a good read and I’m impressed with the ease of words that Sudha puts the story into.

My rating for this book is 3

8 comments on “Gently falls the bakula

  1. Titaxy says:

    I haven’t read any of Sudha Murty’s books, but I have read reviews which did not compel me to buy her books at all. Maybe I should give hr benefit of doubt and read at least one of her books before I decide to give up on her :D

    • Nu says:

      Yes I think you should really read at least one of her books to finally give up on her work. You can also check for ‘wise & otherwise’. I just have it in my reading list right now but I have heard that It’s nice-It’s a collection of short stories.

  2. Hmm, I had a totally different opinion of the book — as you probably know since you read my blog post on it. :)

  3. Nu says:

    PB,which post ? Unclear :(

    • Psych Babbler says:

      I’d written a review on 3 of Sudha Murty’s books on my blog a while back. (Probably in Oct or something) and didn’t particularly like her books although I had held such high hopes….

  4. [...] With: The five people you meet in heaven I’ve Never Been To: Ladies Coupe A Happy Day Includes:Gently falls the bakula Motto I Live By: Words can [...]

  5. [...] With: The five people you meet in heaven I’ve Never Been To: Ladies Coupe A Happy Day Includes:Gently falls the bakula Motto I Live By: Words can [...]

Leave a Reply

