Three Cups of Tea

…by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin.

Three Cups of Tea

A year ago a conversation with a colleague drifted to us discussing books. And while on that, he mentioned about this book – Three Cups of Tea – and told me that it is a must read. Since then it’s been in the back of my mind that I need to pick this up, but then somehow I kept forgetting about it every time I went to a bookstore or ordered books online. Until three months ago…it suddenly struck me that I still haven’t gotten around to reading it, so I ordered it right away…and I couldn’t wait to receive the same.

I started reading the book the day it arrived at my doorsteps. And I must tell you, I am very glad to have read this one.

Three Cups of Tea is the story about mountaineer Greg Mortenson…after an unsuccessful attempt at climbing the K2 peak, he loses his way during his descent, wanders off to a nearby village and is overwhelmed by the villagers’ generosity. During the next few days at the village, he notices their school’- an open area with children sitting on sand and using sticks as pen / pencil and the floor as the notebook. Owing to their hospitality, he promises them that he would come back and build them a proper school.

And he does.

After going through a million hurdles to save all the money he needs, he returns to the village to keep up his promise. The book walks us through everything…from how he sleeps in his car so he can save on rent to how he manages to acquire funds to how he loses his love to how he tackles the language barriers to how he handles the post 9/11 challenges…all these hardships to see his selfless dream – to provide education for the children in the some of the most remote parts of the world – come true.

Mortenson, who started off to work on one promise to one village to build one school, now has more than 130 schools to his credit. He is now the executive director of the Central Asia Institute.

This book does more than provide a good read. It is an inspirational journey all the way. It teaches one how determination can go a long way and can endure any hardship…all we need is focus on goals and we can be sure to gain the strength to overcome any obstacle along the way. And the book also spreads so much positivity and selflessness. It is amazing to know that in today’s materialistic world there are people like Mortenson who are willing to go way out of their line to help the needy.

So, overall, definitely a story you don’t want to miss. A worthwhile read. Highly recommended.

My rating: 4*.

*for the rating scale, click here.